Weekly SME4Labour Small Business Briefing

Monday 19 October 2026 | Main reporting period: 12–18 October 2026

Regional investment reaching a small business

This week’s lead is a concrete example of regional growth finance reaching a small employer: Medcotec’s £2.4 million funding round, supported by the Liverpool City Region Seed Fund. Labour ministers have also backed quantum innovation and progressed cooperation on defence skills, while a new parliamentary inquiry gives everyday entrepreneurs a chance to shape policy.

For SME4Labour, the test is whether these developments help smaller firms secure finance, find customers and train staff. This edition separates completed investment from projected benefits, and forthcoming parliamentary business from law already in force.

1. Regional seed investment supports Medcotec

Status: company funding round secured and reported on 16 October; product commercialisation and additional jobs remain prospective.

Laboratory sample tubes used in life sciences work
A Liverpool City Region seed-fund round is supporting a life-sciences firm’s pharmaceutical manufacturing technology. Photo: Unsplash.

Liverpool City Region Combined Authority, led by Labour Mayor Steve Rotheram, reported that Daresbury-based Medcotec had secured a £2.4 million round involving its existing £10 million Seed Fund. Investor Mercia separately confirmed the transaction. Other participants include NPIF II–Mercia Equity Finance, LYVA Labs and private investors. The round will support trials and commercialisation of a powder-transfer valve for pharmaceutical manufacturing.

Combined Authority announcement, 16 October | Mercia confirmation, 16 October

Medcotec currently employs four people and expects four additional jobs over the next year. These are planned jobs, not jobs already delivered. The £2.4 million is the whole funding round, not the Combined Authority’s contribution; the public source does not disclose that contribution.

SME implications and action — analysis: This illustrates how regional equity can combine with other investors to support a small firm’s development. Equity involves ownership dilution and investment assessment, not a general grant entitlement. Innovative businesses based in, or moving to, Liverpool City Region can review the existing Seed Fund’s published £250,000–£2 million investment range and prepare a credible investment deck. Existing fund and application route.

2. Quantum backing moves towards commercial products

Status: funding support and winning projects announced on 13 October; corroborated by UKRI on 16 October. Not a newly opened general SME grant.

Physics diagrams representing quantum and advanced technology
The Government and UKRI have backed named quantum projects, including rail monitoring and portable eye-scanning technology. Photo: Unsplash.

The Government announced £50 million supporting quantum technologies, including MoniRail’s railway monitoring, Siloton’s portable eye-scanning technology and ColdQuanta UK’s radio-location work. UKRI confirmed these projects and described an £8 million QuEST apprenticeship expansion, including support in the North West, aiming to equip 150 apprentices by 2030. Science, Innovation and Investment Minister Chris McDonald welcomed the backing.

Government announcement | UKRI confirmation

SME implications and action — analysis: Specialist engineering and technology firms may find collaboration and supply-chain opportunities. Contact named project teams or UKRI about participation and future competitions; do not assume the announcement is an open application window. No general SME allocation or procurement entitlement is specified. The releases also mention £20 million for quantum networks; their relationship to the headline total is not explicit enough to justify adding the figures together here. Clinical and transport benefits remain intended outcomes.

3. Ministers and northern mayors develop India trade links

Status: trade mission and a regional declaration delivered; commercial projections are not all realised export sales.

A world map marked with international connections
A UK mission to India and a Liverpool–Bengaluru declaration are cooperation steps, not confirmed SME orders. Photo: Unsplash.

Business Secretary Jonathan Reynolds’s 12 October announcement set out a mission involving over 100 businesses, northern mayors and ministers. It included a signed partnership for RANsemi’s communications technology, described as an export opportunity exceeding £100 million over five years, alongside firms’ expansion plans. These figures have different commercial bases and should not be presented as cash already received or an SME-only total.

Government announcement, 12 October

On 16 October, Liverpool City Region reported a Joint Declaration of Intent with Greater Bengaluru Authority, supported by Mayor Steve Rotheram, covering enterprise, research and shared industrial strengths. This is a cooperation step towards a stronger agreement, not a contract award.

Regional declaration

SME implications and action — analysis: Exporters should ask their regional business-support team about follow-up introductions, identify credible distributors and check product-specific customs and regulatory requirements. A trade mission or declaration does not guarantee orders; assess payment terms and partner risk before committing expenditure.

4. Match funding advances Scottish defence training plans

Status: match-funding agreement confirmed; two colleges planned, not newly opened.

A welder at work in an engineering workshop
Match funding will support two planned Defence Technical Excellence Colleges in Scotland. Photo: Unsplash.

On 16 October, the Scotland Office welcomed the Scottish Government’s agreement to match the UK Government’s £10 million commitment for two Defence Technical Excellence Colleges, one in eastern and one in western Scotland. The original UK commitment formed part of the £50 million Scottish Defence Growth Deal announced in March. The Prime Minister’s speech the same day corroborated the match-funding development.

Scotland Office announcement | Prime Minister’s speech

SME implications and action — analysis: Engineering and manufacturing suppliers could benefit from a stronger local skills pipeline. Ask relevant colleges and industry networks about employer input, placements and future training provision. The release does not specify opening dates, SME places or application arrangements. This is a new delivery step on an existing commitment, not a new £50 million award this week.

5. Everyday entrepreneurs invited to shape parliamentary policy

Status: cross-party committee inquiry launched on 16 October; evidence gathering, not adopted government policy.

The River Thames and the City of London
A parliamentary inquiry is taking evidence from entrepreneurs, including on the high street and in skilled trades. Photo: Unsplash.

The Business, Innovation, Science and Trade Committee, chaired by Labour MP Liam Byrne, launched its Entrepreneurship and business inquiry. It covers start-up finance, practical advice, skilled trades and the move from sole trader to employer, including hiring a first employee or apprentice.

Launch and scope

SME implications and action — analysis: Submit specific examples of barriers and workable solutions, supported by costs and experience. Retailers, hospitality operators and market traders can contribute alongside technology founders. The inquiry page gives a deadline of 11pm on 12 November 2026. Its launch release calls this “Friday”; 12 November is Thursday. Use the numeric date and confirm on the submission service before filing.

6. Late payment legislation scheduled for further scrutiny

Status: forthcoming parliamentary business announced on 16 October; third reading scheduled for 20 October, not completed during this reporting week.

A person signing a business document
The Commercial Payments Bill is due for a further Lords stage. Its proposals are not yet law. Photo: Unsplash.

Parliament’s notice says the Government’s Commercial Payments Bill is due for Lords third reading on 20 October. The Bill proposes stronger Small Business Commissioner powers and a ban on construction retention clauses. Its bill page identifies Labour peer Lord Leong as its sponsor. Despite the news page’s “completes examination” headline, the body describes a future stage.

Parliamentary notice

SME implications and action — analysis: Stronger payment protections are welcome, but firms should not change contracts on the assumption that these proposals are already law. Watch the debate and subsequent commencement details. For unresolved disputes with larger private-sector customers, check the Commissioner’s existing enquiry service now. That service predates this Bill.

Dates and practical actions

20 October 2026 Lords third reading of the Commercial Payments Bill is scheduled. Monitor the result; this is a legislative stage, not a compliance deadline.
26 October 2026 Applications close for the existing Pathways to Work Innovation Fund. UK-based private, public and voluntary organisations may apply, subject to criteria. Round one offers up to £10 million; it is not the entire £60 million programme.
12 November 2026, 11pm Entrepreneurship inquiry evidence deadline. Gather practical evidence on finance, first hires and apprenticeships. See the date discrepancy noted above. Inquiry page.
30 November 2026 Existing corporate-reporting consultation closes. Offer evidence on proportionate reporting and audit requirements; proposals are not exemptions already available. Government deadline announcement | Consultation.

SME4Labour’s perspective

Cllr Ibrahim Dogus, Chair of SME4Labour
Cllr Ibrahim Dogus, Chair of SME4Labour.

Suggested quote for Ibrahim Dogus, Chair of SME4Labour. Draft wording for approval, not a previously issued statement:

“It is encouraging to see Labour-led regional investment helping a small business secure the finance to develop its products. Government backing for innovation and skills also matters to the firms building Britain’s future industries. We want those opportunities to reach more entrepreneurs, alongside practical progress on the everyday pressures of cash flow, business costs and taking on staff.”

Priority for the week ahead

Gather members’ evidence for the entrepreneurship inquiry, particularly the cost of a first hire, access to suitable finance and the effect of late payment. In parallel, follow the Commercial Payments Bill’s next stage and help eligible innovators complete Pathways applications before 26 October.

About SME4Labour

SME4Labour is a Labour supporters’ group bringing together small and medium-sized businesses with Labour representatives, trade unions and policymakers. It is not affiliated to the Labour Party and is not a lobbying organisation.

Primary sources checked on 19 October 2026. Main reporting period 12–18 October; earlier support and consultations are labelled as existing. SME implications and suggested actions are analysis, not official commitments. Investment secured is distinguished from forecast jobs and commercial outcomes.

For general information only; not legal, tax or financial advice. Check eligibility, deadlines and implementation arrangements directly with the relevant authority or provider before acting.

Take the next step