SME4Labour AGM 2018

On Tuesday the 18th of April, SME4Labour held its Annual General Meeting in Committee Room 6 of the Houses of Parliament.

The evening began with a brief introduction from the char and member of SME4Labour's executive committee Rehana Ameer.

This was followed by remarks from Shadow Pensions Minister Jack Dromey MP, who kindly hosted the event, and spoke passionately about the importance of the small business community, the work SME4Labour was doing, and the Labour Party's role in championing SMEs.

SME4Labour Co-Chair Ibrahim Dogus then gave a brief report outlining what had been achieved over he last year, noting that SME4Labour had held roughly one meeting every month that had sought to bring together figures from the Labour Party with small business owners and the self-employed. This included notable events at parliament and Labour Party conference. Mr. Dogus also gave a brief outline of SME4Labour financial situation, which continues to be healthy.

Following the annual report, the meeting moved to elect an expanded executive committee of 29 members.

In total, there were 27 nominations to the executive committee. They were elected unanimously, with the committee mandated to find suitable candidates to fill the remaining vacancies.


The members of the executive committee are as follows:


Aliur Rahman, Chief Executive of the London Tea Exchange


Doug Henderson


Claire Johnston, Director Lion Communications and Events


Simon Lydiard, Former Senior Civil Servant and Director Breaking Barriers innovations 


Mike Hedges, Taxi Driver and Chair of Unite London and Eastern Political Committee


Ibrahim Dogus, Chair of British Takeaway Campaign 


Cllr. Haydar Ulus, Founder of Ulus Group


Rehana Ameer, Cheif Executive of Prosap Corporation Limited


Paul Cons, Managing Director of Konditor and Cook


Cllr. Guy Nicholson, Chair of the Group Board at Newable


Martyn Davis


Raife Aytek, Restaurateur 


Andrew Pakes, Director of Communications & Research at Prospect


Mike Joslin, Founder of Write You Media


Cllr. Jack Hopkins, Director of Good Planning


Cllr. Ali Gul Ozbek, Owner of Med-Chem Pharmacy


James O’Keefe, Executive Director at Quatro Communications


Callum Anderson, Policy Adviser at the Quoted Companies Alliance 


Sen Kandiya, Director of Lyca Health


Shahin Rahman


Cllr. Beulah East


Rezaul Hai, Chief Executive of the Centre for Interactive Education


Sonny Leong, Executive Chairman of Academy for Parliamentary & Policy Studies


Martin Howe, Founder of Howe+Co Solicitors 


Mark Glover, Founder of Newington Communications


Cllr. Paul Dimoldenberg, Executive Chairman of Quatro Communications


An executive committee meeting will take place in the coming weeks to select officers and regional representatives

The meeting ended with a discussion on how best SME4Labour can move forward, including suggestions that will now be taken to the executive committee.