Nominations for the 2017 the Second Labour Excellence Awards are Open


We are delighted to announce that nominations for the Second Labour Excellence Awards are now open. If you admire a Shadow Cabinet Member or think that your local Labour MP, Cllr, GLA, Scottish Parliament or Welsh Assembly Member is deserving of a prestigious Labour Excellence Award nominate them. Why not celebrate the work of a particular Labour Friends Group, Socialist Society or Trade Union by putting them forward?

You can do this by emailing us on with the name, contact details and a reason why you think your nominee qualifies them for an award.   

In December last year, SME4Labour presented the Labour Excellence Awards at our annual gala, celebrating and recognising the achievements of Labour Party politicians, members and organisations for the first time.

The event hosted dozens of Labour politicians including Leader the Rt Hon Jeremy Corbyn MP, Shadow Cabinet Members and MPs as well as representatives from various trade unions and businesses. Notable winners of the awards among many others, include Shadow Chancellor John McDonnell who received Shadow Cabinet Member of the Year, Yvette Cooper who won Labour MP of the Year, Unite the Union who won Trade Union of the Year and Chinese for Labour who received the Socialist Society of the Year Award. For a full list of winners, please click here.

The awards will be presented at the upcoming SME4Labour Gala later this year. The categories are as follows:

Labour MP of the Year

Shadow Cabinet member of the Year

Trade Union of the Year

Labour Councillor of the Year

Labour MSP of the Year

Labour Council of the Year

Labour Welsh Assembly of the Year

Labour CLP of the Year

Labour MEP of the Year

Labour elected Mayor of the Year

Labour PPC of the Year

Labour Parliamentary assistant of the Year

Socialist society of the Year

Friends group of the Year

Labour Peer of the Year

Labour London Assembly Member of the year