News & Blog


Held at the River Bank Park Plaza hotel in Lambeth, the event was attended by over 400 guests. This included over 60 Labour MPs and peers, including several members of the shadow cabinet. They were joined by assembly members, mayors, local councillors and other members of the Labour family, alongside trade union leaders and distinguished figures from the business community.

The evening’s keynote speeches were delivered by Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer John McDonnell MP and Mayor of London Sadiq Khan. Speeches were also given by General Secretary Jennie Formby, Shadow Secretary of State for Education Angela Rayner MP, and Shadow Minister for Small Businesses Bill Esterson MP who presented awards, and by Shadow Secretary of State for Women and Equalities Dawn Butler MP, Baronness Shami Chakrabarti and Lord Adonis, who received award the Shadow Cabinet Member of the Year and Peer of the Year awards. The evening was hosted by comedian, broadcaster, and political commentator, Ayesha Hazarika. Entertainment was provided by musician Paul Stanworth, his band and Julia Othmer.

Speaking at the awards, Ibrahim Dogus, Co-Chairman of SME4Labour, highlighted the strengths of current Labour SME policies and called for the next Labour manifesto to go even further. Discussing prospects for SMEs in the context of Brexit and fast-moving geopolitics, Mr Dogus stresses that “it is vital that the voice of small and medium enterprise is not lost amidst all the noise” and reaffirmed the joint interests of Labour and small businesses, in generating local jobs and providing the glue which holds communities together.

Many speech makers commented on how encouraging it was to see women so well represented at the awards. In his speech, Sonny Leong, Co-Chairman of SME4Labour, highlighted the importance of shattering glass ceilings for women, saying “If women started businesses at the same rate as men, there’d be one million more entrepreneurs in the UK.”

For more photos please click here.

SME4Labours new annual report can be found here.

SME4Labour relies on the kind donations of it supporters to continue to do its work. Please consider making a contribution.  



Trade Union of the Year Award


Fire Brigades Union - WINNER

Communication Workers Union

Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers


Outstanding Contribution Award

Fabian Women’s Network


Labour Council of the Year Award

Islington Council

Manchester City Council - WINNER

Liverpool City Council

Hounslow Council


Socialist Society of the Year Award

LGBT Labour

Disability Labour - WINNER


Shadow Cabinet Member of the Year Award

Diane Abbott MP

Rebecca Long-Bailey MP

John Healey MP

Dawn Butler MP - WINNER 


MP of the Year Award

Alison McGovern MP - WINNER

Tulip  Siddiq MP

Dan Carden MP

David Lammy MP

Ruth Cadbury MP


Labour Peer of the Year Award

Baroness Shami Chakrabarti - WINNER

Lord Maurice Glasman

Lord Michael Cashman

Lord Andrew Adonis – WINNER


Elected Mayor of the Year Award

Philip Glanville (Hackney)

Damien Egan (Lewisham)

Rokhsana Fiaz (Newham) - WINNER 

Constituency Labour Party of the Year Award

Ilford South


Wolverhampton North

Liverpool Walton - WINNER


MEP of the Year Award

Lucy Anderson

Seb Dance - WINNER

Richard Corbett - WINNER

Julie Ward 


MSP of the Year Award

Monica Lennon

Johann Lamont

Jenny  Marra

Neil Findlay - WINNER 


London Assembly Member of the Year Award

Unmesh Desai AM

Florence Eshalomi AM

Leonie Cooper AM

Joanne McCartney AM - WINNER

Dr Onkar Sahota AM


Labour Councillor of the Year Award

Cllr DannyThorpe

Cllr Matthew Brown

Cllr Aydin Dikerdem

Cllr Clare Coghill - WINNER

Cllr Melvin Collins

Cllr Mete Coban

Cllr Abdul Hai

Cllr Andrea Mann

Cllr Jas Athwal - WINNER 


Friends Group of the Year Award

Labour Friends of USA

Labour Friends of Palestine and the Middle East - WINNER

Labour Friends of Bangladesh 



SME4Labour 3rd Anniversay Gala 2018 press release





Please find below a press release regarding SME4Labour's 3rd Anniversary Gala and Labour Excellence Awards.

To book your tickets, please click here

On Tuesday 18th December, SME4Labour will host its third annual Anniversary Gala and Labour Excellence Awards. SME4Labour works to strengthen the relationship between the Labour movement and the small and medium sized businesses that are the backbone of their local communities and the British economy.

Read more

Nominations for the 2018 Labour Excellence Awards are now open

We are delighted to announce that nominations for the Labour Excellence Awards 2018 are now open.

If you think that your local Labour MP, Cllr, GLA, Scottish Parliament or Welsh Assembly Member is deserving of recognition, why not nominate them? You can also celebrate the work of a particular Labour Friends Group, Socialist Society or Trade Union by putting them forward!

To make a nomination, please send an email to with their name, contact details and the reasons why you think they should win

Read more

Doing Buisness with Government – A Vision for Labour

Simon Lydiard, a former Senior Civil Servant, offers some thoughts on his experience in government and developing a distinctive Labour vision for government business with SMEs.

Read more

Read Co-Chair Ibrahim Dogus' speech at SME4Labour's 2nd Annual Parliamentary Reception (2018)

Distinguished Members of Parliament, distinguished Members of the House of Lords, colleagues, friends. Thank you for joining us at this SME4Labour Parliamentary Reception.My name is Ibrahim Dogus, and I am the co-founder of SME4Labour. I am a small business owner. I am a community activist. I am a proud member of Vauxhall Constituency Labour Party.  We are here to make a simple argument: that there is no contradiction between supporting small and medium enterprises – SMEs – and being an active supporter of the Labour Party and Jeremy Corbyn.

Read more

Carolyn Harris MP is LCGR's Inaugural Chair


SME4Labour is delighted to announce Carolyn Harris MP as Labour Campaign for Gambling Reform's (LCGR) inaugural chairwoman.

As those of you at the launch of the LCGR on 6th December 2017 undoubtedly attest, Carolyn is one of the most passionate and eloquent advocates on the need for gambling reform, as well as a range of interlinked issues. We are delighted to have her fully on board.

Launched by SME4Labour, LCGR seeks to bring together members of the Labour movement with campaign groups, experts, and community activists to lobby for progressive change in the gambling industry.  

As a group dedicated to strengthening the work of the Labour Party among small businesses, SME4Labour is committed to countering the devastating effect gambling addiction has on local communities across the country.

Read more

Read Co-Chairman Sonny Leong's speech at the SME4Labour Annual Gala and Labour Excellence Awards


Friends, thank you so much for coming tonight. It is wonderful to be with you. So – how has your 2017 been?! Quiet? Relaxed? Or have you, like me, been taking your social media feed intravenously for that constant hit of news? 

Read more

Labour Excellence Awards Winners 2017


Read Co-Chairman Ibrahim Dogus' speech at the SME4Labour Annual Gala and Labour Excellence Awards


My Lords, ladies and gentlemen, Members of Parliament, distinguished representatives of the media, friends from the trade unions, and from businesses, fellow Labour supporters. Welcome to the Park Lane Sheraton Hotel, and to the SME4Labour Gala Dinner. 

Read more

Listen to Co-Chairman Dogus on General Elections 2017 and SMEs


Ibrahim Dogus, Co-Chairman of SME4Labour, commented on the reactions from small and medium businesses regarding the announcement of the General Election in June, 2017. 

Listen to BBC Radio 5's 'Wake Up to Money' podcast here